My Fitness Favorites

10455357_991274857613140_4833031714989775354_n

I decided that every month or so, I’m going to be posting “My Fitness Favorites”, a.k.a. a roundup of the specific workouts that I’ve been doing as of late. It will be a fun way to document what I’m doing, and maybe also give you some ideas to change up your workout routine! I think its so important to continually be switching things up in the gym (or outside of the gym… outdoor workouts are the glorious!), not only because its better for you physically, but also because it’s such a huge help mentally! If I get into a rut of doing the exact same workout for weeks on end, I start to feel bored and lame and unmotivated (not to mention that I’m no longer getting stronger because my body is totally used to the routine).

I like to start most workouts with some good old fashioned cardio…running and walking. Treadmills are the worst for some people, I know, but I don’t mind them one bit as long as I have my headphones and some great music to listen to (okay, and preferably a window to look out of, or some people to watch… I guess my criteria is actually pretty specific.) I also usually prefer not to spend more than 20 to 30 minutes on a treadmill, because any longer than that and this girl starts to become a bit crazy.

Here’s what my most recent (super simple) treadmill workout has been:

0:00-2:00 | Walk at 4.0

2:00-5:00 | Run at 7.5

5:00-7:00 | Walk at 4.0

7:00-10:00 | Run at 7.5

10:00-12:00 | Walk at 4.0

12:00-15:00 | Run at 7.5

15:00-17:00 | Walk at 4.0

17:00-20:00 | Run at 7.5

*Bonus/Optional*

20:00-22:00 | Walk at 4.0

22:00-25:00 | Run at 7.5

25:00-27:00 | Walk at 4.0

27:00-30:00 | Run at 7.5

DONE!

Sometimes I will change this up by adding an incline to the walking portions (usually between 3.5 and 4.5 percent). Other times I will run at a slower (or occasionally faster) speed, if I’m feeling extra crazy. I like to gauge my progress this way: During the walking portion of the workout, my heart rate is usually at about 138 BPM. That number always goes up during the running portions of the workout, obviously. After each running portion, if my heart rate can successfully go back down to 138 while I walk, before its time to run again, I know that for my next workout, I can bump up the running speed! Then, I’ll do that workout (at the higher running speed) for as many days as it takes for my heart rate to be able to get back down to 138 after every round of running! Hope that makes sense.

I love that workout because I’m never doing the same thing for more than three minutes at a time! The workout being broken up into intervals really makes a difference!

Here’s another quick workout that I love. My friend Carolyn and I call it the “jumping around workout.” Ha! I love it because its a short and sweet full body workout that incorporates both strength and cardio- and you don’t need any equipment for it (its all optional)! It’s great to do if you’re short on time, or as part of a larger workout. It can be done anywhere with a flat surface! The challenge is to complete the whole thing as fast as you can (and the more you do it, the faster you will get!). It usually takes 10-15 minutes. You can do anything for that long!! Here’s what it consists of:

100 butt kicks

90 jumping jacks

80 upper cuts in squat

70 hip raises

60 renegade rows

50 pikes

40 high knees

30 mountain climbers

20 crab touches

10 push up jacks

DONE!

I’m always sweaty and tired but feeling pretty fulfilled after completing this! Follow this link for a demonstration of each move!

And last but not least, I entered a new world the other day…

12105761_991331987607427_5790568202376781060_n

Yup, this was Snapchat worthy. My friend Kayla led me through a great kettlebell workout by the Tone It Up girls! Here’s the link to the workout. It definitely had my muscles quivering by the end of it. Loved it.

That’s all for now, folks. Hope you enjoyed reading about a couple of the ways that I’m currently choosing to suffer at the gym. Just kidding, exercise makes me a much happier person. Toodloo for now!

3 thoughts on “My Fitness Favorites

  1. I laughed out loud when you said “Hope you enjoyed reading about a couple of the ways that I’m currently choosing to suffer at the gym.”

    I was in desperate need of workout motivation 🙂 I am going to try out your “jumping around” workout! Also, love your Nikes! They are super cute.

    Can’t wait for your next post!

    XO, Brooke :: brookeashlinblog.com

    Like

    1. Haha! Let me know how the jumping around workout goes! And thanks, those Nikes make working out extra great. Feeling cute while sweating up a storm is always nice. Thanks for reading, Brooke! New post coming soon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

