A New Way of Eating

Hello friends!


As many of you probably know, I’ve struggled with my health for about six years. I’ve had strange and seemingly unrelated symptoms such as fatigue, headaches, shakiness, dizziness, mood swings, joint pain, bad blood flow, and more. These symptoms are not constant; they come and go, but they have been a frustrating interruption to daily life for quite a while now. I’ve been gluten-free for four out of those six years, and while that did help, it did not eliminate the symptoms altogether, and because I tested negative for Celiac, I ultimately realized that being gluten-free was not the end-all be-all for me.

I’ve tried supplements and prescription vitamins, among other things, all of which have helped in some ways, but also had considerable downsides to them as well (excuse my over-simplifying all of this, but I’m just not sure that you would find all of the little details super fascinating). I’ve been tested for anemia, diabetes, and lupus, but nothing was found.

This has been a long and often discouraging road at times, but now with the support of my wonderful friends and family, I’m on a mission to reverse these symptoms and improve my quality of life! I’ll be going to doctors appointments until we get to the bottom of this, but in the mean time, I’m not going to wait around. I’m starting a new, much cleaner way of eating in hopes that it will alleviate some of my symptoms.


I’ve always thought of myself as someone who lives a more or less healthy lifestyle because I love to work out, and I eat pretty healthy most of the time. In reality, though, my diet is very inconsistent and does not always contain the things that my body really needs! I’ve always liked fruits and vegetables, but I have never incorporated nearly enough of them into my daily life. That’s about to change!  The realization of how nutrient-dense and important these things are slapped me in the face when I discovered this YouTube channel, and the accompanying blog and Instagram account (I have no plans of becoming a fully raw vegan, but I found much of what she has to say really helpful and interesting). My goal is to start to consume much more fruits and vegetables (along with healthy carbs and lean meats in moderation), drink at least half of my body weight in ounces of water a day, and less sugar and unhealthy carbs.


My recent epiphany is this: If I’m not treating my body well and putting my full effort into giving it all of the nutrients it needs, it will be much harder to find the source of my symptoms. My hope is that a non-balanced diet has been the source of these symptoms over the years! While I’ll continue to seek out answers from professionals, I’m also going to be very intentional about taking extremely good care of my body on a daily basis.

 

I’m planning to share recipes on the blog when I can as a way to build community and stay excited about this new way of eating!

As much as I dislike these symptoms that I’ve had over the years, I also thank God for them, because they are pushing me to depend on Him, and they are pushing towards a way of living that I should have embraced all along! I’m thankful to God for giving me this body to take care of.

“If you don’t take care of your body, where will you live?”

xoxo

Caylie

21 thoughts on “A New Way of Eating

  1. oh gosh…love this and needed this. have been doing whole30 and it has become so expensive. was praying this morning that the Lord would show me another way and have been thinking about clean eating this morning. I love the seemingly random was the Lord works!!!!! I can’t wait to enjoy some of your recipes!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. Glad I found your blog. I too have been struggling with health issues for about a year now. What started out as a little cough has turned into a year-long struggle. I’ve developed a bunch of allergies, no longer sleep well and have been struggling with anxiety. I work out a lot, consider myself a healthy eater, so I don’t know what I’m doing wrong and neither do my doctors. Sigh. It’s a real struggle. I’ve been feeling a bit better lately, but I chalk that up to sleeping more. The handfuls of allergy meds help too, but I don’t want to be stuck on those for the rest of my life.

    Anyways, I’m thrilled to start reading along! Take care and wishing you great health! xo

    Dominique

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow- thank you for sharing your story! That’s so hard. I totally understand not wanting to be stuck on medication the rest of your life- I’m right there with you! Thank you so much for your kind wishes… Same to you, Dominique! Have a wonderful weekend!

      Like

  3. Hi Caylie- Iam so glad you found my blog because now I have found yours 🙂 I think you are incredibly inspiring by sharing your story and journey to eating healthier. Eating clean can be difficult sometimes, I know I struggle with it, but over time will become second nature! I look forward to following along 🙂

    -Taylor

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for those kind words, Taylor! I so appreciate you reading my blog and being so supportive. You’re so right- it certainly isn’t easy. But I do love the way it makes me feel, which helps keep me motivated. Thanks again, Taylor! Glad to make a new blogging buddy!

      Like

  4. Thanks for the ‘like’ on my latest blog post…Good luck with the clean eating – I’ve been eating clean for more than six years now. Not because of health problems, I just wanted to look and feel better – coupled with personal training sessions three times a week, mainly weightlifting, I most definitely do!! It’s not a diet, it a way of life and it’s changed mine beyond belief… I hope it works for you too – keep up the good work!!x

    Like

  5. Hey! I kind of relate to what you are talking, I don’t have all the symptoms that you have but I do have some and also others. I have started eating healthier and it has helped a lot, but I still have them sometimes.
    I really, really like your blog btw, and thanks for visiting mine.
    Love,
    Pao

    Like

Leave a Reply

