Choosing Contentment.

Yesterday, my sweet friend Tyler and I spent the day together, working out (we did three group exercise classes- core, sculpt, and yoga), eating lunch, and hanging out at the pool. It was such a great time to catch up. We don’t get to see each other super often because we are both so busy. She just finished her first year of med school, and I’m wrapping up my time in college this year! My fifth and final year. My victory lap! Come May, I will finally be a college grad with an Art Education degree!
Last night, Tim and I threw on black shirts and taped white construction paper spots to them as a last ditch effort to get free food at Chick-fil-a by dressing up as cows. We loved our free sandwiches (I got the chicken salad sandwich, which I love every time), and we enjoyed it picnic-style by the lake in front of our apartment. A no-makeup, real talk, no fancy camera kind of outing.  It was a super fun time together.

As Tim and I have been starting to think about our future and what it could possibly look like, I’ve found myself battling discontentment in the form of “what-ifs” sometimes. I can get so excited, anxious, and caught up in future plans that I miss the things that are happening right in front of my face. That, I’m realizing, is such a waste of beautiful life! The life that we are living here, in our hometown, close to our families and many old friends, is of so much value. We are surrounded by so many people who love us and encourage us. Little Rock is a super cool city that I didn’t really even appreciate until my college years, because I’m a dreamer and walked through middle-school and high-school with the dreaded and empty I’m meant for so much more mindset that is such a joy-robber.

There is so much to be said for experiencing different cultures, seeing the world, and gaining perspective from that. Living in- and continuing to travel to-new places are something that we definitely want to do in the future. But life is not where you are. Life is how you live, and who you are with. A life lived for Christ and for other people is what we ultimately want to live out in every season.

All of that to say, I’m so thankful for life right now. I’m excited for the future, but refusing to let that excitement for tomorrow steal joy from today. We are surrounded by goodness and I am so thankful!

“So do not worry, saying ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” Matthew 6:31-33

Xoxo

Caylie

8 thoughts on “Choosing Contentment.

  1. Great post!
    I’m guilty of dreaming through life myself, and have trouble appreciating life in-the-moment. I get discontent thinking of all the things I COULD be doing OUTSIDE of the circumstances God has placed me in, when in reality God wants me to do all I can WITHIN the circumstances He’s put me in.
    I tend to forget that without God, I am without ANY potential, and the things I could accomplish, outside of His will, are worth nothing!
    Megan @ http://www.blingelegance.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

